Robinson misses out on cabinet

Cleveland MP Mark Robinson has missed out on a portfolio in Premier Campbell Newman's cabinet of 19 ministers and 11 assistant ministers.

Mr Robinson was the Shadow Minister for Main Roads, Fisheries and Marine Infrastructure during the previous government. He was one of two members of the Liberal National Party's pre-election frontbench team to miss out.

The other to be dumped was former industrial relations spokesman Ted Malone, who will now head a parliamentary committee.

Mr Robinson, who won his seat with an 18 per cent swing, told the Bayside Bulletin he was "a little disappointed" about not making the front bench.

He thanked Mr Newman for allowing him to be Shadow Minister for Main Roads, Fisheries and Marine Infrastructure over the past year.

"I was privileged to put together plans and projects in fisheries, roads and marine infrastructure for the election and beyond, and while I am naturally a little disappointed, I wish the new ministers every success in continuing the good work I started," he said.

"As the local MP for Cleveland, I look forward to having more time than otherwise to deliver on the LNP government's promises for Cleveland - on cost of living, better emergency care at Redlands Hospital and improved education services, to name a few.

"The resounding LNP win on Straddie provides a mandate to bring in a new plan that the residents of Straddie strongly desire and that will require much work," Mr Robinson said.

After announcing his cabinet, Mr Newman said Mr Robinson was not included because there "were only so many portfolios available".

While the Redlands, which has three state seats, missed out on a minister, the Gold Coast got three ministers and one assistant minister.

Redlands MP Peter Dowling will be made chairman of the Community Affairs committee, which oversees legislation on key areas of indigenous, social justice and aged care issues.

Mr Dowling said he was "delighted" with the position after serving on the committee during the last parliamentary term.

Before last weekend's election, the LNP's shadow cabinet had 18 members plus Mr Newman. Sunshine Coast MP Fiona Simpson will become the state's first woman speaker.

Jarrod Bleijie will be the state's new Attorney-General and Justice with Bruce Flegg the new Housing and Public Works minister.

David Gibson will head the Police and Community Safety department while Jann stuckey will head Tourism. John Paul Langbroek will head Education, Training and Employment.

Transport and Main Roads department will be headed by Scott Emerson while Lawrence Springborg will get the embattled health portfolio.

Andrew Cripps gets Natural Resources and Mines with Mark McArdle taking over the Energy and Water Supply department, which will oversee dismantling Allconnex.

Andrew Powell gets Environment and Heritage Protection while David Crisafulli, will head the Local Government Department.

The Communities, Child Safety and Disability Services portfolio will go to Tracy Davis.


Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide