Iona College has won its 17th straight track and field championship

Iona College’s Primary track and field team has won its 17th consecutive interschool championship.

The college which is attended by many students from the Redlands won the Combined Independent Colleges track and field championship from 2000-2014, competing against both GPS and current AIC schools from the Brisbane area.

Having switched to the Associated Independent Colleges (AIC) in 2015, the college has won three successive aggregate championships, taking their winning streak to 17 years in a row.

Iona College’s senior school, achieved second place behind Marist College Ashgrove, in the AIC aggregate.

The senior team has achieved top three in this competition since 2005, including wins from 2006 to 2011.

The Iona team was captained by Harrison Biggs and Bailey Smith, who have both represented Queensland Schools during their time at Iona College.

Iona is a Catholic Boys’ College for years five to 12, served by the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate (OMI).

January 28 next year marks 60 years since Iona College first opened its doors to students.